All the drivers in California are required to have auto insurance as per the state laws. In fact, the moment you own a car you have to get the auto insurance even if you are not intending to drive it. The insurance agencies here consider the car owner’s age, sex, marital status, and educational qualification, credit history, driving manner and also the model of the car before deciding on the insurance rate.
According to the states’ Compulsory Financial Responsibility Law, all the owners and drivers of a car should be financially responsible for all their actions. As per the legal order, the responsible party (in case of an accident) is obliged to pay minimum $15,000-$30,000 (for multiple injuries) and $5,000 for any property damage to the victim. Otherwise the car owner might face severe penalty.
However, there are many insurance agencies in California. Hence, make a thorough research and compare the policies and price ranges of different companies before making the final deal.